Dyke? Fagot? Who can say this without being offensive?

Upper rant

I’ve been working really hard to push myself and get out of my comfort zone by making videos and one of my best friends straight up said they won’t watch them. Not even just just give it the view and hit like or share it or anything. Nothing to help me out. 

Lower rant

Then today he said that he would never shave his head again because it makes him look like a dyke.

 I hate that word. I’ve been called that so many times and it makes me upset. Even when I was little I was called a little boy and that I’d be cute if I were a dude, but Im just a dyke. I’ve had friends that were consistently bullied and called dykes to the point of needing help. It’s just not okay to me. 

So I said that’s not a very nice word. And he said snappy that he can use it because he is gay. And I’m like well I’ve been called that before and it’s hurtful, sooo… and he was like ‘whatever’. 

If I were a lesbian could I call him a fagot and it not be offensive? 

Or if I were a lesbian and I threw around the word fag even thought it bothered him, would I still be in the right? 

From my opinion no. 

So why is it okay for him to say dyke just because he is gay, and expect it to not offend, or for him to have some special right? UGH.

What are your opinions? It’s okay if you disagree with me, I’d still like to hear your point of view. 

Until next time. 

-Nikki
*Grammer and spelling not checked. This was typing vomit from being upset and is not supposed to be professional, or even good.*

Leave a comment